Shri. Pinarayi Vijayan

Chief Minister of Kerala

3rd Floor, North Block, Secretariat,
Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
PIN- 695001
Tel: 0471 – 2333241 
FAX: 0471 – 2333489
Residence: 0471 – 2314853, 2318406
General Administration; All India Services; Planning and Economic Affairs; Science, Technology and Environment; Scientific Institutes; Personnel and Administrative Reforms; Election; Integration; Sainik Welfare; Distress Relief; State Hospitality; Airports; Metro Rail; Inter State River Waters; Information and Public Relations; Non-Resident Keralites Affairs; Home; Vigilance; Administration of Civil and Criminal Justice; Fire and Rescue Services; Prisons; Printing and Stationery; Inland Navigation (Construction of Waterways); Kerala Shipping and Inland Navigation Corporation;  Pollution Control; Transport and subjects not mentioned elsewhere.  

Since childhood, Pinarayi Vijayan had to experience poverty and struggle. After completing school education, he joined the Government Brennen College at Thalassery for further studies. 


Right from his college days, Pinarayi Vijayan became active in the students' movement, being in the forefront of various student agitations. Subsequently he headed the state units of Kerala Students Federation and Youth Federation, before entering the parliamentary arena.


Pinarayi Vijayan became a member of the Kerala Legislative Assembly five times; in 1970, 1977, 1991 from Koothuparamba, in 1996 from Payyannur and in 2016 from Dharmadom. He was the Power and Co-operation Minister in the E K Nayanar Government which came to power in 1996. It was during this period that the state witnessed a phenomenal increase in power generation besides significant enhancement in distribution capacity of various power projects thus ushering in a new era in the electricity sector. During the internal emergency, while being a member of the Kerala Legislative Assembly, he was arrested and brutally beaten up in a police lock up.


His administrative acumen and experience as a well grounded politician who understood the needs of people, helped him in introducing various revolutionary initiatives in the state's co-operative sector. Pinarayi Vijayan relieved himself of the ministerial responsibilities in 1998 to take up the crucial post of the CPI (M) state secretary for playing a bigger role in the organisation. He held the state secretary's position from 1998 to 2015.


Pinarayi Vijayan was elevated to the national leadership of the CPI (M), becoming a member of the Politburo in 1998. 


During his political life spanning over five decades, Pinarayi Vijayan has excelled in all organisational and parliamentary responsibilities entrusted with him. He became a legislator at a young age of 26 in 1970 and it was during this period that he faced brutal police torture for days together. After coming out of jail, he made a stunning speech on the floor of the House, holding aloft the blood stained shirt he wore during the custodial torture. His speech is rated as one of the best in the history of Kerala Assembly.

Married to Kamala, the couple has two children Vivek and Veena. 12th Chief Minister of Kerala on 25 May, 2016 was born to Maroli Koran and Kalyani on 24 May, 1945 in Kannur District.


Shri. M. C. Dathan      
Scientific Advisor                  

Mob: 9447176476

Shri.  N. K. Jayakumar

Advisor  (Law)

0471- 2517464

Mob: 9447044996

Shri. John Brittas
Advisor (Media)         

Mob: 98477 20010


Shri.  Prabha Varma
Advisor (Press)           

Tel: 0471- 2333197    
Mob: 9447681100

Shri   Raman Srivastava
Advisor (Police)           

Tel: 0471- 2517021

Adv. A. Rajasekharan Nair
Appellate Authority

Special Private Secretary

Tel: 0471- 2517021

Mob: 9446478981

North Block
Government Secretariat

Pin - 695 001

Shri.  P. Gopan
State Public Information Officer

Additional Private Secretary

Tel: 0471- 2518667

Mob: 9447811177

North Block
Government Secretariat








Shri. Mohan R.

Private Secretary

0471- 2333591, 0471-2517575


Shri. V. S. Senthil 

Principal Secretary (Co-ordination)

Tel: 0471- 2321011/
0471 – 2517468


Sri. Mir Mohammed Ali IAS


0471- 2327979, 0471-2518653

Shri. Dinesan Puthalath

Political Secretary

0471- 2518118


Adv. A. Rajasekharan Nair

Special Private Secretary

0471- 2517021


Shri. C. M. Raveendran

Additional Private Secretary

0471- 2518666


Shri. P. Gopan

Additional Private Secretary

0471- 2518667


Maj. Dinesh Bhaskaran

Additional Private Secretary

0471- 2518983


Shri. P. M. Manoj Press Secretary 0471-2517145 9446005310
Shri. P. P. Aboobacker Additional Private Secretary 0471- 2517483 9446575760

Shri. Sureshkumar M.

Assistant Private Secretary

0471- 2517288


Shri. Suresh P.R.

Assistant Private Secretary

0471- 2517124


Shri. Anandakumar E.

Assistant Private Secretary

0471- 2518606


Shri. A. Sathish Kumar

Assistant Private Secretary

0471- 2517241


Shri. V. M. Suneesh

Personal Assistant

0471- 2517057


Shri. Balaji G.K.

Additional Personal Assistant

0471- 2518128