Minority Welfare

About         Department Sections          Schemes     Services      Contact Us      Related Links     ?



As a part of implementing Justice Rajindar Sachar Committee Report and Paloli Muhammed Kutty Committee report, a Minority Cell was constituted under General Administration Department in 2008. Subsequently a Minority Welfare Department was constituted in the State. This department is the nodal agency of the schemes implemented by the Central and State governments. The Directorate of Minority Welfare Department is located in Thiruvananthapuram.

Department Sections

1. All papers related to the Sachar Commission report on Minorities.

2. Papers related to the Prime Minister's New 15 Point Programme.
3. Papers related to the Minority Concentration District.
4. Madrassa Welfare Fund
5. Kerala State Minority Development Finance Corporation
6. Kerala State Minority Commission
7. Minority Coaching Centres
8. Minority Directorate
9. All papers in connection with the Minorities except that of Linguistic Minorities in the State.

Organization Structure

Shri. Pinarayi Vijayan
Chief Minister
3rd Floor, North Block
Government Secretariat
Thiruvananthapuram – 695001
0471- 2332184
0471- 2333241
0471- 2333610
Fax: 0471- 2333489
Shri. K. R. Jyothilal IAS
Principal Secretary
Room No. 394
1st Floor
Main Block , Secretariat
Phone 0471-2320311, 2518669
Mobile: 9447744200



Schemes & Programmes

1) Scholarship and hostel stipend for Muslim girls and Prof. Joseph Mudasseri Scholarship.
2) Coaching Centres for Minorities
3) Kerala Madrassa Teachers Welfare Scheme
4) Imbichibava Housing Scheme.
5) Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MSDP)
6) Monitoring of Prime Ministers 15 point programme.
7) Career Guidance Programme for Minority Students.
8) Scholarship for undergoing courses in pursuit of CA/ICWA/CS.
9) Skill Training reimbursement of fees to the Minority BPL Students studying in two year courses.
10) Water Supply Scheme in Minority concentrated areas.
11) Share Capital for the KSMDFC.

Services & Activities



  1. Activities of the minority cells attached to the all District collectorates in Kerala. These cells are constituted for co-ordinating the Minority     Welfare activities in each district.
  2. Distribution of Muslim girls scholarship, hostel stipend etc.
  3. Kerala State Madrassa Teachers Welfare fund.
  4. Coaching Centres in the State started for free coaching to minority youths for the competitive examinations conducted by the Union Public Service Commission, Kerala Public Service Commission, Banking Service Recruitment Boards, Railway Recruitment Board and other agencies.
  5. Prime Ministers new 15th point programme.
  6. Execution and monitoring of the multi-sectoral Development Programme (MSDP), a Central scheme being implemented in Wayanad district and Ponnani Town in Kerala.
  7. State Minority Commission.
  8. Process of Information of Kerala State Minority Finance Development Corporation.
  9. Implementation and supervision of all future activities in connection with the welfare of minority communities.

Contact Us


Sl no. Department Sections. Address & Phone No.
1. Department of Minority Welfare Shri. A. Shahjahan
Room No. 505
5th Floor
Annex I
Ph: 0471-2335311, 2517058,0471- 2517019
Fax: 0471-2335311
Mobile: 9990558800
2. Directorate of Minority Welfare Director,
Directorate of Minority Welfare,
4th Floor, VikasBhavan,
Thiruvananthapuram, 695033
3. HELP DESK (Phone Nos) Office: 0471 2302090
Director: 0471-2300523
Projects & Scholarships: 0471-2300524
4. HELP DESK (Email ID) Director:
Projects Officer:
Scholarships :







Related Links