Scheduled Tribes Development

Scheduled Tribes Development Department 

Scheduled Tribes Development Department,
Vikas Bhavan

Thiruvananthapuram- 695033


Tel: 0471-2302990

About the department
Scheduled Tribes Development Department is functioning under the control of Principal Secretary at the Secrtariat. 
At the directorate, Director of the Department has the supervisory authority over all the tribal development activities of the State. The other officers of the department are Joint Director, Administrative Officer, Finance Officer Assistant Director (Education) Assistant Director (Sub Plan Cell) and Publicity Officer Special Officer (Education). 
In addition to this, a State Tribal Advisory Committee is constituted to monitor the welfare activities of the department comprising Minister for Tribal Development as Chairman and Director of the department as convener. The committee also includes officers who are in charge of the various activities of the department.
At district level, such committees function with District Collectors at the helm. Working Groups at district also functions as planning and implementing agencies of various schemes and programmes implemented for the department.
There are seven Integrated Tribal Development Project (ITDP) offices (Nedumangad, Kanjirappally, Thodupuzha, Attappadi, Nilampur, Wayanad and Kannur); ten Tribal Development offices (Punalur, Ranni, Adimaly, Moovatupuzha, Chalakkudy, Palakkad, Kozhikodu, Sulthanbatheri, Mananthavdi and Kasargod) and  53 tribal extension centers which are active in the existing tribal belts of the State,  carry out fruitful tribal development activities in the State. 
The Department runs a number of institutions like hostels, balavadis, nursery schools, dispensaries, mobile employment exchanges and midwifery centres.


Related Websites


Kerala Institute for Research Training & Development Studies
of Scheduled Castes & Scheduled Tribes


Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Government of India

National Commission for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled
Tribes, Government of India

Commission for Backward Classes

Kerala State Commission for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes